Month: December 2020

  • Christmas 2020

    Lessons From Lockdown

    I'd use the time well
    get lots of things done
    the country locked down
    was no time for fun.

    I sorted the Tupperware
    homecooked my meals
    burned some old paperwork
    searched ebay for deals.

    Polished the silver
    trimmed my own hair
    purged all the closets
    of clothes I don't wear.

    Then I slowed down
    stopped watching the time
    slept a bit later
    began a new rhyme.

    Sat on the porch
    and noticed the birds
    listened to music
    and heard all the words.

    The quiet is lovely
    without all the cars
    I laze with the cats
    and gaze at the stars.

    Learned that my days
    are sweeter spent slow
    It took a pandemic
    to learn what I know.

    2020 Cheri Neuman Herald

    Merry Christmas Xanga friends!!